Detroit Lions


The Detroit Lions compete in the NFC North division of the NFL. Founded in 1930 as the Portsmouth Spartans, the team relocated to Detroit and was renamed the ‘Lions’ for the 1934 season. The Lions are one of four teams to have never made it to a Super Bowl. Legendary figures of the Lions include Barry Sanders, Lem Barney, Alex Karras, and Calvin Johnson.

The Lions have made 17 playoff appearances in franchise history, winning four division championships, four conference championships, and four NFL championships. The Lions’ home field is Ford Field, and the team is owned by Martha Firestone Ford. The current general manager is Bob Quinn, and the head coach is Matt Patricia.

Read More